Goodbye Red Bluff

Leaving Red Bluff was strange.  Strange to think that I haven’t really spent much time there for the last 5 years, but I still consider it home because my parents are there and because of the amazing community that helped launch me from Red Bluff to college in San Diego and to all the other places I leave Red Bluff for: Lassen Volcanic National Park, Rocky Mountain, trips to Alaska, etc.  Red Bluff is a good base camp with a crew of people there always excited to welcome you back and prepare you for your next adventure, wherever that may be.  As much as I hate on Red Bluff for being one of those ‘Small Town America’s with all of its quirks and craziness, it is small town America in the way that everyone is there for each other.  And there for me, especially, it feels like.  The ladies of the Red Bluff High School front office/counseling center/student store/TRC threw me an amazing going-away potluck that meant so much to me.  Their kindness and guidance has helped push me to seek out these adventures time and time again.  And, most importantly, they will be there for my mom when she is missing me.

Now I am all packed and in San Francisco!  Just a mini vacation here before I leave early tomorrow morning for staging in Philadelphia!  (Yes don’t worry, I’m going to get a cheesesteak) Parents and boyfriend Rory are here in SF and we are going to hang out and enjoy the city!

Packing notes: fit everything into one suitcase and one duffel bag to be checked on and carrying on my backpacking backpack.  Some strange things I’m taking: yoga mat (could double as a bed if needed), tent (for the bugs), harmonica (goal: learn how to play it), and lots of Red Bluff/US trinkets for gifts.  Oh, and like 100 granola bars.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Red Bluff

Leave a Reply

